EC Stands for Electoral Commission

There is an online link which you can use to check for your registration details.
The Electoral Commission also uses the photo-bearing register available at the EC Voter Register display centres.



Ugandans will go to the polls on January 14 to vote for presidential and parliamentary candidates. The government has gazetted January 14 as a public holiday, to allow registered voters to participate in the forthcoming polls.

We have 17,658,527 voters registered by the Electoral Commission


Uganda is a unicameral democracy in which elected representatives vote on legislation and serve five year terms. The 12th parliament will consist of:

  • 353 direct constituencies
  • 146 District Women Representatives
  • 10 Uganda People's Defense Forces Representatives
  • 5 Representatives of the Youth
  • 5 Representatives of Persons with Disabilities
  • 5 Representatives of Workers
  • 13 Ex-officio Members

Those identified in the National Voters’ Register will be allowed to cast their votes at 34,344 polling stations distributed across the country.


Ugandans in the diaspora cannot vote in the upcoming January 14 elections if they do not come home during the stipulated period for registration in the National Voters’ Register


PWDs should report to the polling station accompanied by a person of his or her choice for assistance, or request any other person at the polling station for the same purpose.

The counting of votes takes place at the polling station after the close of polls. Once polls close, the Presiding Officer at the polling station opens the ballot box in full view of all those present including the representatives of respective political parties, and with help from Polling Assistants, starts to count the votes.
The Electronic Results Transmission and Dissemination System will be used to transmit the results from the District Tally Centers to the National Tally Center. Once results coming from the polling stations are entered into the computers at the district level, they will then be printed and party agents will receive a copy of the entered result.
At the close of tallying, and once all results have been received, it is the responsibility of the EC to announce the final result. The commission has 48 hours after the close of polls to make this announcement.

The Electoral Commission (EC) of Uganda will use biometric voter verification equipment during the 2021 election. The Biometric Voter Verification System (BVVS) is one of the new measures aimed at improving the management and conduct of elections in Uganda through authentication of voter identity.


The Electoral Commission (EC) will allow contesting political parties, media and monitoring organizations, and successfully nominated independent candidates, to submit names of their agents for accreditation as observers. Only five observers are allowed per sub-county.
The accreditation of international observers will be processed through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, while that of local observers will be handled at the respective district levels with district vetting committees comprised of EC officials, Ministry of Internal Affairs officers, and some internal security officials. You can apply here for accreditation through the EC:


The results of the presidential elections are announced and declared 48 hours after the close of polling.
For parliamentary results, these are not immediate. There’s no specific timeframe mandated. The results are announced at a reasonable date.


Voting starts at 7am and at 4pm, unless you were in the voting line before that time. Before voting starts, the empty ballot box is opened, shown to those present at the polling station and then sealed to ensure the protection of the ballot paper


The procedures for voting are as follows:

  • Polling agents at the station witness the process of opening the poll; 
  • The Polling Official, using biometric equipment, identifies and captures fingerprints of the voter, and marks the name in the register indicating that the voter has been issued with a ballot paper;
  • The voter then proceeds to a voting basin to tick or thumbprint the ballot and places the ballot in the ballot box; and
  • The voter is then marked with indelible ink.